Bits & bobs from the last two years…1

Over the last two years I have accumulated ideas for blog posts. Some of which are no longer relevant, some of which will turn into full blown posts and some of which I want to sure bits of.

So, here are the bits and bobs from the last couple of years! Enjoy!

Mistakes Programmers Make Over and Over

One of my teachers at Enspiral Dev Academy was Samson Ootoovak, who I also have the pleasure to work with at Flick Electric Co. Just after I graduated from EDA in July 2015 he wrote this blog post – Mistakes Programmers Make Over and Over. The main points being:

  • Read the errors
  • Copy-paste trouble
  • Keeping your branches small
  • Quickly not writing tests
  • Starting is better than perfect
  • Everyone is better than me

Most of these mistakes I made a lot when I started out. I can even remember asking Sam for help during the last phase of bootcamp and it was an issue with not reading the error properly.

I still make these mistakes, but less often (just making new ones now!) and I now recognise sooner what the mistake was and make corrections quicker.

It is a good reminder to come back and reflect on these and also take the time to reflect on how much I have learnt over the last two years since graduating.

(Oh and I also think one of his more recents posts would be good to book mark if you ever consider submitting a call for proposal (CFP) – My First CFP)

Tools – editors, terminals, linters

I started out using Sublime as my text editor of choice and iTerm for the terminal/console.

I’m big on how things like and while using Sublime I discovered the cobalt2: a theme for Sublime Text. And the same one for iTerm – Cobalt2 for iTerm2 and ZSH.  Then I transitioned to using Atom as my text editor of choice, where you can also use the cobalt2 theme.

My old friend, Samson, got me into using zsh and oh-my-zsh. And then I discovered that Wes Bos (ps, Wes is also the creator of the cobalt2 theme!) had made this cool and very useful video series – Command Line Power User. If you are using zsh, I highly recommended. If you are not using zsh, why not?

Starting out in Ruby land I discovered the Ruby Style Guide. And then learnt about linters! The one I use for ruby is RuboCop and you can also get it working in a text editor – https://atom.io/packages/linter-rubocop.

 

More “Bits & bobs from the last two years…” to come! 😁

 

Leave a comment