Dev Academy – Week 2

I’m now at the end of Week 2 of Phase 0 of Dev Academy. This week has focused on HTML and CSS. The main tasks we had to do this week via Treehouse I had already completed as I started on Treehouse back in the middle of January. I managed to find a link to a months free membership and started on the Front End Web Development track. So I have been working on trying to progress sites I have already made to improve the responsiveness and look. Here is my main site with links to others, all still works in progress.

I have started working through the CSS – Beyond the Basics course on Treehouse. I have particularly enjoyed learning about flexbox and multi-column layouts. It will be good to play around with these and use in sites, while still thinking about how to keep a site workable for browsers that don’t yet support these options.

I am just getting into transitions and transforms and have animations to look forward to. Who knew there was so much you could do with CSS3! I could see secondary school students doing lots of cool things with this kind of styling.

One area I would like to development more is the design of sites. I still feel that I have a very basic and limit idea of design of websites. I would like to be better at using colours and creating the look and feel of a website. Like Annie Lennox’s new albums site is wow – http://nostalgia.annielennox.com/.

Screen Shot 2015-03-14 at 4.52.48 pm

I like the pop out menu from the side and menus like this that pop down, mostly in mobile sites. Anyone know of a good place to start for basic but good design tips?

With Git and Github –

  • am really enjoying the power of branches
  • found site called “git – the simple guide” – http://rogerdudler.github.io/git-guide/, really useful
  • using GitHub pages to make websites for projects – doing this is slightly different from making a page for a user following GH pages. I found this page on how to make them manually confusing, so at the moment what I do is once I have pushed up the master branch with the inital commit, I create a new branch called “gh-pages” in GitHub and the site is created. When I want to updated the project site (website) I do have to pull the master changes down into my gh-pages branch and then push that up to the gh-pages branch on GitHub. Which is a bit round about. When I have another site I want to get online, or another one to start, I will have a go at following the Creating Project Pages manually instructions.
  • have also this week had a crack at using markdown language to add information to my copy of the weeks instructions, to show what I have and haven’t done.

Week 3 we will be getting into JavaScript and JQuery.

Leave a Reply

