JS Visualisation: Online Python Tutor – Visualise Python, Java and JavaScript code!!

Exicting! I have just started the course on JavaScript Loops Arrays and Objects on Treehouse and in the video “Simplify Repetitive Tasks with Loops” they are stepping through a random number while loop.

Screen Shot 2015-02-16 at 7.25.08 pm

This reminded me about the Online Python Visualiser that I was introduced to during a uni paper I took last year –  http://www.pythontutor.com/http://www.pythontutor.com/visualize.html#mode=edit.

So, I searched for JavaScript visualiser to find that the online python tutor has the ability to run Java code and JavaScript code!! I am excited about this as I found it very useful in understanding some code and worked out some problems using it as well.

Screen Shot 2015-02-16 at 7.34.29 pm

Plus, you can add in code and then either share the link or embed it. One thing I had to change though was I was writing out the random number to the web page with document.write but this throw an error in the visualiser, so changed it to console.log and this then meant the program output worked.

I can see this being useful for some stuff but perhaps not big things!

Leave a Reply

