Learn Moodle – MOOC: Week 1

So, last minute have enrolled on a MOOC called Teaching with Moodle: An Introduction on Learn Moodle.

Learn Moodle

So, what is a MOOC and Learn Moodle?

“Learn Moodle is the official Moodle website for delivering MOOCs (Massive Open Online Courses).”

Now, this course is aimed to cover the basics of Moodle of four weeks, which isn’t that useful to me as I know the basics. However, I thought it was a good opportunity to see how a MOOC works with something that I am really interested in. Also, I get to play (and get) more badges plus dabble in version 2.5.

I am hoping to learn some more about the basics of Moodle (as I am sure I don’t know everything yet). My practice course (you can request one and then play) I am going to try to start setting up a blending learning context Health course. At the moment we use workbooks that students write in and I would, firstly like to get this all online and then look at ways to make it more collaborative and engaging and not just filling in pages!! So, if I am ogranised I could ask for feedback from over 2000 other Moodlers. Some who are a lot more experienced then me!

On badges, I don’t know what it is but I just can’t help myself and want to get badges. My first experience with badges was during the iMoot in May. (Here are all the badges I got at the iMoot). I would like to work on developing some badges for the Health course I am planning and use them in an effective way, as I am sure there can be ‘death by badges’!

Looking at the typical progression list that  Martin Dougiamas has written about for how teachers progress, I would say I am at three – Using Quizzes and Assignments.

So, I still have a long way to progress – which means I can get more badges!

Learn_Moodle_participant_2013

3 thoughts on “Learn Moodle – MOOC: Week 1

Leave a Reply

